Daily meet celebrity with new activity


Lucknow Central
Directed by Ranjit Tiwari
Produced by Nikhil Advani,
Monisha Advani,
Madhu G. Bhojwani,
Viacom 18 Motion Pictures
Written by Ranjit Tiwari,
Aseem Arora
Starring Farhan Akhtar
Diana Penty
Gippy Grewal
Deepak Dobriyal
Ronit Roy
Rajesh Sharma
Music by Arjuna Harjai
Rochak Kohli
Tanishk Bagchi
Cinematography Tushar Kanti Ray
Edited by Charu Shree Roy
Emmay Entertainment
Distributed by Viacom 18 Motion Pictures
Release date
  • 15 September 2017 (2017-09-15)
Country India
Language Hindi

Lucknow Central is an upcoming Indian Bollywood prison escape movie, directed by Ranjit Tiwari and produced by Nikhil Advani, under the banner of Emmay Entertainment.[1][2][3] The film stars Farhan Akhtar in the lead role. It will be released worldwide on September 15, 2017.[2]


  • 1 Plot
  • 2 Cast
  • 3 Production
    • 3.1 Develpment
    • 3.2 Casting
    • 3.3 Filming
  • 4 References


Kishen Mohan Girhotra (Farhan Akhtar) is a young man who belongs to Moradabad, a city in Uttar Pradesh. One fateful day, Kishen gets accused of murder which lands him in Lucknow Central Jail where he’s awaiting his High Court trial for a death penalty. Meanwhile, a diligent NGO worker Gayatri Kashyap (Diana Penty), is compelled to form a Band of Prisoners for the band competition which is to be held in the dreaded jail of ‘Lucknow Central’ that year and this is how Kishen’s and her paths cross. Kishen befriends four other inmates, namely Dikkat Ansari, Victor Chattopahdyay, Purushottam Pandit, Parminder Trehan and convinces them to join the band.

The dramatic narrative of Lucknow Central portrays how Kishen’s life progresses in jail and how music becomes an intricate part of not only his journey, but the rest of the band’s as well. [2]


  • Farhan Akhtar as Kishan Mohan Girhotra
  • Diana Penty as Gayatri Kashyap
  • Gippy Grewal as Parminder Singh Gill
  • Deepak Dobriyal as Victor Chattopadhyay
  • Ronit Roy as Jailer
  • Rajesh Sharma as Purushottam Madan Pandit
  • Inaamulhaq as Liyakat Ansari
  • Uday Tikekar
  • Sukh Kunwar
  • Vineet Gill
  • Ravi Kissen as Pawan Singh Chaturvedi
  • Manoj Tiwari (special appearance)



The official announcement of the film was made in May 2016, and it was decided that the title of the film was going to be Lucknow Central.[1]


The makers of the film decided to cast Farhan Akhtar in the lead role in the film.[2] Other members of the cast include Diana Penty, Deepak Dobriyal, Ronit Roy and Rajesh Sharma, and Punjabi actor-singer Gippy Grewal.[4]


The principal photography of the film commenced sometime in November 2016. The official trailer of the movie was launched on 26 July 2017. The film is set to hit the theaters on 15 September 2017.[4]