Daily meet celebrity with new activity


Kim Petras
Kim Petras (42743719761).jpg
Petras in 2018
Background information
Birth nameTim Petras[1]
Born (1992-08-27) 27 August 1992 (age 26)[2]
Cologne, Germany[3]
  • Pop
  • electropop
  • Singer
  • songwriter
Years active2011–present
Associated actsCharli XCX, Lil Aaron

Kim Petras (born 27 August 1992) is a German singer and songwriter, currently based in Los Angeles.[4] Petras was born and raised in Cologne, where she had become subject of media coverage after undergoing gender transition at a young age. Petras began recording music as a teenager, releasing her debut extended play One Piece of Tape in 2011. She independently released her debut single in 2017, the Dr. Luke-produced "I Don't Want It at All", which went on to top several viral music charts on Spotify, resulting in Petras landing a partnership with her company.[5] Following her early success, Petras released a slew of digital singles and the EP Turn Off the Light (2018) for Halloween.

As of December 1, 2018, Petras' songs have been streamed over 65,000,000 times.


  • 1 Early life
  • 2 Career
    • 2.1 2011–16: Career beginnings
    • 2.2 2017–present: Digital singles and Turn Off the Light, Vol. 1
  • 3 Artistry
  • 4 Discography
  • 5 Tours
  • 6 References
  • 7 External links

Early life

Kim Petras was born on 27 August 1992.[2] Her parents, Lutz and Konni, have said that from the age of two, she began insisting she was a girl. It became apparent this was "not just a phase,"[6] and her parents tried to be supportive but made her wear gender neutral clothes in public.[7] Eventually her parents sought professional help but struggled to find people who were knowledgeable on the subject. In time they found Bernd Meyenburg at Frankfurt University who was head of a clinic for children and had studied transsexuality since the 1970s.[6]


2011–16: Career beginnings

In 2006, Petras, then aged 13, made her first significant media appearance in a story on Stern TV, a German television current affairs show.[7][8] In it, she described her gender transition and the medical treatment received at the Endokrinologikum (endocrinology center) in Hamburg by Achim Wüsthof. However, it was not until the following year, at aged 14, that Petras gained worldwide attention from the news media. This occurred after she appeared in a German television documentary,[9] and a talk show,[10] in a push to get permission for early gender reassignment surgery at age 16. According to German law, a person must normally be at least 18 to be allowed to undergo this kind of surgery. The publicity generated from the 2007 TV appearances resulted in many news articles about her gender transition at age 12 and describing her as the "world's youngest transsexual". This assertion, however, is inaccurate, as gender identity disorder is often diagnosed in early childhood and transition by children under 12, though uncommon, is not unknown. However, Petras may have been one of the youngest people at that time to receive female hormone treatments.[6][11][12]

In September 2007, she was a model for a nationwide chain of German hair salons.[13] Petras turned 16 in 2008, and announced in a November 2008 post on her blog that she had recently completed her gender reassignment surgery.[14] The story hit the news media on 4 February 2009[15] and appeared in newspapers worldwide, even making the front page of some. These articles suggested that Petras may be the youngest person in the world to have had gender reassignment surgery.[16] Petras is very adamant that her gender has always been female. In an interview about her surgery she stated "I was asked if I feel like a woman now – but the truth is I have always felt like a woman – I just ended up in the wrong body".[16] Throughout 2013, Petras worked with producers including The Stereotypes and Aaron Joseph on a music career, also releasing a song called "STFU" on her Soundcloud page in 2014.[17] For her contributions to social media, Petras was ranked at number 19 on Billboard's Artist Chart, listing developing artists, in July 2013.[18]

2017–present: Digital singles and Turn Off the Light, Vol. 1

In August 2017, Petras released her debut single "I Don't Want It at All",[19] The song went on to reach the Spotify Global Viral chart.[20] The accompanying music video for the song premiered in October on Vevo, and features a cameo appearance by Paris Hilton.[21][22] In the same month, Petras was picked by Spotify to be one of the four artists named as a RISE Artist, a "program designed to identify and break the next wave of music superstars."[23] During the end of 2017, Petras was dubbed "most likely to dominate the pop charts" by Paper magazine,[24] and appeared on Charli XCX's mixtape Pop 2 (2017) for the track "Unlock It" alongside Jay Park.

In January 2018, the Nicholas Harwood-directed video for Petras' single "Faded", which features Lil Aaron, premiered on Noisey,[25] That same month, she appeared in the January issue of Galore.[5] Petras released the breakup-inspired "Heart to Break" in February, to commemorate Valentine's Day.[26] The song was given its radio debut on BBC Radio 1 on February 19.[27] Bryan Kress of Billboard noted how while the single is "still keeping Petras’ upbeat, unabashed pop sound... [it] ventures into new territory for the songwriter."[26] On the 21st of that same month, Petras released her extended play Spotify Singles exclusively through the service under BunHead Records, Petras' own label. It consisted of live renditions of "Hills" and The Killers' "Human", as performed at their NYC Studio.[28] On October 1, 2018, Petras released Turn Off the Light, Vol. 1, a Halloween-themed extended play. The project was seen as a departure from Petras' typical sound, and features a guest appearance from Elvira.[29] Currently, Petras is planning on releasing one song a month until her debut album is complete. She has expressed interest in headlining a tour in the near future.[5] She was featured on Cheat Codes' song "Feeling of Falling" in November 2018.[30]


Kim Petras is a pop artist. She credits the late-1990s/early-2000s pop scene[31] and 1980s Italo disco[24] as her primary basis for her sound. Pop inspirations include Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, and The Spice Girls,[31] as well as Boy George, Debbie Harry, Queen, Freddie Mercury,[17] Judy Garland, Baby E, Lil Aaron, and Liz Y2K.[5] On her songwriting, Petras told Noisey that "there’s something about making a song that everybody can sing and remember, and when you listen to it the first time you already know the words by the second chorus, like you’ve always known the song. I’m obsessed with that idea.”[31] She commented on themes, stating "I write about boys, heartbreak, sex, having fun and the things that I go through."[5] Following her debut, Petras was dubbed as "the new princess of pop" by Nasty Galaxy.[17]


Extended plays
  • One Piece of Tape (2011)
  • Spotify Singles (2018)
  • Turn Off the Light, Vol. 1 (2018)


Supporting act

  • Bloom Tour (Troye Sivan) (2018)